Home Entertainment Sabrina Carpenter and CHIKA to Perform at GLAAD Media Awards

Sabrina Carpenter and CHIKA to Perform at GLAAD Media Awards

by Terra
0 comment

GLAAD, the world’s largest lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) media advocacy organization, today announced that CHIKA, Rebecca Black, and Niecy Nash’s wife Jessica Betts will perform during the 32nd Annual GLAAD Media Awards. GLAAD is partnering with Google to exclusively premiere the ceremony on GLAAD’s YouTube on Thursday, April 8 at 8pm ET. Sabrina Carpenter will also appear for an exclusive performance only available on Hulu. The event will stream on Hulu on April 8 starting at 10pm ET, and will be available to stream on-demand on Hulu until the end of June. Out actress and producer Niecy Nash will host the virtual ceremony.  

Viewers can sign up to receive updates about the 32nd Annual GLAAD Media Awards, including new talent announcements, reminders, and a link to watch the ceremony live here. On socials, please follow and tag @GLAAD and #glaadawards. The 32nd Annual GLAAD Media Awards honor media for fair, accurate, and inclusive representations of LGBTQ people and issues. Since its inception in 1990, the GLAAD Media Awards have grown to be the most visible annual LGBTQ awards show in the world, sending powerful messages of acceptance to audiences globally. The 32nd Annual GLAAD Media Awards are presented by Gilead, Hyundai, and Ketel One Family Made Vodka. 

GLAAD also announced that Gottmik (RuPaul’s Drag Race), designer August Getty, Nats Getty & Gigi Gorgeous Getty, Ariadne Getty (President and Executive Director, Ariadne Getty Foundation), Reggie Greer (Senior Advisor on LGBTQ Issues at the White House), Harvey Guillén (What We Do in the Shadows), USWNT and Orlando Pride Stars Ashlyn Harris & Ali Krieger, Karamo (Queer Eye), Andrew Rannells (The Boys in the Band, The Prom, Black Monday), Ronen Rubinstein (9-1-1: Lone Star), Rafael Silva (9-1-1: Lone Star), Lilly Singh (A Little Late With Lilly Singh), Brian Michael Smith (9-1-1: Lone Star), and Dominique Provost-Chalkley & Katherine Barrell (Wynonna Earp) will join the star-studded lineup of special guests for the 32nd Annual GLAAD Media Awards. 

GLAAD also announced that it is auctioning off Phoebe Bridgers’ smashed guitar from her iconic Saturday Night Live performance of “I Know The End” on February 6. Bridgers is nominated for Outstanding Breakthrough Music Artist at the 32nd Annual GLAAD Media Awards. The guitar is part of GLAAD’s larger GLAAD Media Awards auction, which helps to fund GLAAD’s culture-changing work to accelerate LGBTQ acceptance. The auction, including Bridgers’ guitar and other exciting packages, is now live until April 11 at www.glaad.org/GMAauction.  

GLAAD previously announced that the cast of Glee will reunite during the virtual ceremony for the 32nd Annual GLAAD Media Awards on Thursday, April 8 for a special tribute to the legacy of the late Naya Rivera’s character Santana Lopez. The tribute will honor the ten-year anniversary of Santana’s coming out on the GLAAD Media Award-winning series and spotlight the character’s impact on LGBTQ teens and Latinx LGBTQ representation on television. Global superstar Demi Lovato, who played Santana’s girlfriend on Glee, will introduce the special tribute, which will feature Glee cast members Jacob Artist, Chris Colfer, Darren Criss, Jessalyn Gilsig, Dot-Marie Jones, Vanessa Lengies, Jane Lynch, Kevin McHale, Heather Morris, Matthew Morrison, Alex Newell, Lauren Potter, Amber Riley, Harry Shum Jr., Becca Tobin, and Jenna Ushkowitz. During its run, Glee was nominated six times for Outstanding Comedy Series at the GLAAD Media Awards, winning the award in both 2010 and 2011.

Previously announced special guests for the virtual ceremony include Ian Alexander (Star Trek: Discovery), Molly Bernard (Younger, Milkwater), Matt Bomer (The Sinner, The Boys in the Band), Jonathan Bennett (The Christmas House), Bob The Drag Queen (We’re Here), Sterling K. Brown (This Is Us), Laverne Cox (Disclosure, Promising Young Woman), Wilson Cruz (Star Trek: Discovery), Mackenzie Davis (Happiest Season), Robin de Jesús (The Boys In The Band, Tick, Tick…Boom!), Blu del Barrio (Star Trek: Discovery), Nyle DiMarco (Deaf U), Colman Domingo (Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, Euphoria), Clea DuVall (Happiest Season), Brandee Evans (P-Valley), Dan Levy (Schitt’s Creek), Jim Parsons (Hollywood, The Boys in the Band), DJ “Shangela” Pierce (We’re Here), Katy Perry, Eureka O’Hara (We’re Here), Anthony Rapp (Star Trek: Discovery), Bretman Rock (MTV Following: Bretman Rock), JoJo Siwa, Sam Smith, and the cast of Veneno. 

GLAAD is also working with TikTok on a special recognition titled “TikTok Queer Advocate of the Year,” which is highlighting the TikTok creators who have taken LGBTQ visibility to new heights. GLAAD & TikTok previously announced the creators nominated for the recognition, including: Denise & Ebony (@team2moms), Kyne (@onlinekyne), Crissa Jackson (@crissa_ace), Chris Olsen (@olsennchris), Ian Paget (@ianpaget_), Josh Helfgott (@joshhelfgott), Ve’ondre Mitchell (@veondre), Austin Chiang, MD MPH (@austinchiangmd), and Christine Marshall (@chrissycanthearyou). The winner will be announced the night of the GLAAD Media Awards ceremony.   

Discover more from Where Is The Buzz | Breaking News, Entertainment, Exclusive Interviews & More

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

You may also like

Discover more from Where Is The Buzz | Breaking News, Entertainment, Exclusive Interviews & More

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading