Home Events THE 2023 ANTHEM AWARDS WINNERS: Rihanna, Michelle Obama, Billy Porter, Tracee Ellis Ross, and more

THE 2023 ANTHEM AWARDS WINNERS: Rihanna, Michelle Obama, Billy Porter, Tracee Ellis Ross, and more

by Terra
1 comment

The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences (IADAS) today announced the Winners for the 2nd Annual Anthem Awards, which was launched by The Webby Awards in 2021 to recognize social impact work across the globe.

Additional winners include change-making nonprofits and foundations like Planned Parenthood, It Gets Better Project, Doctors Without Borders, Sesame Street, The Asian American Foundation, UNHCR, Gates Foundation, Change.org, Global Giving, Walton Family Foundation, Caring Across Generations, Alzheimer’s Association, and Movilizatorio; cultural icons including Tracee Ellis Ross, Lil Nas X, Giannis Antetokounmpo, Stephen Colbert, Ciara, Last Week Tonight, Killer Mike, Dr. Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Selma Blair, the Cast of This is Us – Mandy Moore, Chrissy Metz, Jon Huertas, and Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum; and industry and brand leaders like Google, AT&T, Samsung, theSkimm, Morgan Stanley, Sephora, Adobe, CNN, IBM, Bank of America, ITVS, Vaseline, Economist, and Participant.

By amplifying the voices that spark global change, the Anthem Awards are defining a new benchmark for impact work that inspires others to take action in their communities.

For the full list of winners and to watch winner acceptance speeches visit: http://anthemawards.com/winners

The Anthem Awards are also recognizing a group of individuals for their outstanding dedication to enacting lasting change with Special Achievement Awards. They join the ranks of past Special Achievement Winners including Naomi Osaka, Megan Rapinoe, Adam McKay, Dr. Jane Goodall, and Pharrell Williams. This year’s Special Achievement Winners are:

  • Gloria Steinem – Anthem Lifetime Achievement for her tireless advocacy for equality for women and her leadership of the feminist movement – from the 1960s to the present day.
  • Ben Cohen & Jerry Greenfield (Founders of Ben & Jerry’s) – Anthem Vision Award for their lifelong leadership in socially responsible commerce and corporate activism and to acknowledge the transformative effect their example has had on the world of business.
  • Billy Porter – Anthem Beacon Award for his career-long commitment to challenging norms and helping to remove taboos, thereby empowering thousands to feel less marginalized.
  • Gabrielle Giffords – Anthem Advocate Award for her bravery and moral strength in inspiring Americans across the country to fight gun violence.
  • Amanda Gorman – Anthem New Icon Award for empowering women and girls around the world and using the once-in-a-generation gift of her voice to demand change.
  • Oleksandra Matviichuk on behalf of the Center for Civil Liberties and the People of Ukraine – Anthem Movement of the Year for fearlessly demonstrating what it looks like to stand in defiance against Russia’s invasion and the forced relocation of Ukrainian civilians, and for documenting these atrocities so that the world will remember what has happened.
  • Quannah Chasinghorse – Anthem Special Achievement for paving the way for indigenous representation in the fashion industry and advocating for land protection and Native American rights.
  • Abigail E. Disney – Anthem Special Achievement for her decades of work advocating for human rights, as well as her ongoing public critique of her own privilege and status.
  • Hamdi Ulukaya (Founder & CEO Chobani) — Anthem Special Achievement Award for building Chobani from the ground up with social impact at its core, he emphasizes taking care of employees, helping the communities in which the business operates, and being accountable to consumers whilst taking courageous positions on social issues.

“This is precisely the time when artists go to work. There’s no time for despair, no place for self-pity. No need for silence, no room for fear,” said actor, writer, singer, activist, and Anthem Beacon Award winner, Billy Porter. “We speak, we write, we do language. This is how civilizations heal. Please remember this, and know, be hopeful, because the change has already happened. God bless.”

“Commit to integrating diversity, equity, and inclusion into every decision, and we will create a thriving, productive global economy,” said actress and Anthem Award winner Tracee Ellis Ross as she accepted her award.

“My call to action would be to vote,” said Anthem New Icon Award winner, poet, and activist Amanda Gorman in her acceptance speech. “The future isn’t just something we hope for, it’s a future we must vote for.”

“I’m beyond thankful and humbled to receive this award, I would not be there without my family, my incredible team, and my Native community for supporting me, uplifting me, and making my voice heard all across the world,” said Anthem Special Achievement winner, model, and activist Quannah Chasinghorse while accepting her award. “Together, with Indigenous knowledge leading us, we can create systems grounded in justice and sovereignty for our Mother Earth, future generations, and all beings.”

“Since launching The Anthem Awards in June of 2021, we have seen that social change continues to emerge as a dominant force in mainstream culture,” said Anthem Awards Managing Director Jessica Lauretti. “The sheer number, breadth, and overall quality of the entries shared with us in the 2nd Annual Awards is a testament to the strength of this growing movement and demonstrates an enduring commitment to the work that is both humbling and inspiring to see. From the war in Ukraine to protests in Iran and the ongoing battle for equality here at home in the States, the call for change not only perseveres but is a growing global chorus.”

Anthem Winners were selected from nearly 2,000 submissions from 43 countries around the world by IADAS.Anthem judges are intellectually diverse leaders with renown across the impact industry with expertise that spans across issue areas including; Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion; Education, Art, & Culture; Health; Human & Civil Rights; Humanitarian Action & Services; Responsible Technology; and Sustainability, Environment, & Climate. Members include Nicholas Thompson, CEO, of The Atlantic, Christina Swarns, Executive Director, Innocence Project, Zarna Surti, Global Creative Director, Nike Purpose, Maurice Mitchell, National Director, Working Families Party, Emily Barfoot, Global Brand Director Dove, Unilever, Trovon Williams, Senior Vice President of Marketing and Communications, NAACP, Dinah-Kareen Jean, Senior Manager, Social Innovation, Etsy, Sarah Kate Ellis, President & CEO, GLAAD,

The Anthem Awards were launched in 2021 in response to the importance of social good within the national conversation and cultural zeitgeist. They were founded by The Webby Awards in partnership with the Ad Council, Born This Way Foundation, Feeding America, GLAAD, Mozilla, NAACP, NRDC, WWF, and XQ. A portion of program revenue funds a grant program supporting emerging individuals and organizations working to advance the causes recognized in the inaugural Anthem Awards.

Discover more from Where Is The Buzz | Breaking News, Entertainment, Exclusive Interviews & More

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

You may also like

1 comment

Leave a Comment

Discover more from Where Is The Buzz | Breaking News, Entertainment, Exclusive Interviews & More

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading