Photo Courtesy of Instagram/@JanetJackson

Before Beyoncé, Aaliyah,Rihanna, Ciara and Normani: There was Janet Damita Jo Jackson. She will finally be inducted in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

According to a press release, the “NASTY” singer will be joining the Class of 2019 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame which will be the 34th annual inductee ceremony.

The Queen, joins six other performers in the new 2019 class, from an international voting body of over 1,000 artists. The nominated inductees are judged on the length and depth of their career and body of work, style innovation and superiority and their musical influence on other artists.

Described by the RRHoF as “a pop icon immediately identifiable on a first-name basis,” Jackson has been nominated for the honor three times. In the meantime, she has scooped multiple awards for her work, including six Grammys, a Golden Globe, and a plethora of Billboard Music Awards, American Music Awards and MTV Video Music Awards. Her music catalogue didn’t just include bops for bops’ sake, she explored social issues as well, most notably in Rhythm Nation 1814.

“[Jackson] explored social issues, themes of empowerment and self-confidence, and influenced generations with her stylized music videos with innovative choreography,” read the website’s inductee page for the pop legend.

Jackson’s nomination was announced in October 2018 and Questlove heavily campaigned for her, calling her previous non-induction “highly criminal” in a February Instagram post.

The ceremony will take place on Friday, March 29, 2019 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn. Additionally, The RRHoF will be unveiling their 2019 Inductee exhibit at the Museum located in Cleveland, Ohio. As per usual, the ceremony will premiere on HBO in conjunction with a radio broadcast on SiriusXM.

For those who want to see the legendary moment in person, public pre-sale and regular sale dates will be announced in January.

Janet also had sometime to say thank you to all of her fans on Instagram.

The complete list of performers who will be inducted in the 2019 ceremony are:

1.The Cure

2.Def Leppard

3.Janet Jackson

4.Stevie Nicks


6.Roxy Music

7.The Zombies

Discover more from Where Is The Buzz | Breaking News, Entertainment, Exclusive Interviews & More

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Discover more from Where Is The Buzz | Breaking News, Entertainment, Exclusive Interviews & More

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading