Regina King, Ava Duvernay, Jharrel Jerome, and Eddie Murphy Win Big At The Critics Choice Awards

Photo Courtesy of Getty Images


Written by:

The Critics Choice Association (CCA) announced the winners of the 25th Annual Critics’ Choice Awards tonight, live from the Barker Hangar in Santa Monica.  Hollywood’s brightest shined at the gala event, which aired on The CW Network and was hosted for the second year by acclaimed film, television, and stage star Taye Diggs. 

 Among the television categories, “Watchmen” was awarded two trophies, for Best Actress in a Drama Series for Regina King and Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series for Jean Smart.

When They See Us brought home two critic choice awards. They won the word for best limited series and Jharrel Jerome won best actor in a limited series for a movie or television.

Ava DuVernay Speech:

Keegan-Michael Key was on hand to deliver a special tribute to Eddie Murphy, who received the Lifetime Achievement Award.  Murphy was feted for his extraordinary career, including most recently his brilliant performance in Best Comedy winner “Dolemite Is My Name.”

Also Zendaya, definitely would have brought home best dress award for blessing the Critic Choice Awards red carpet.

Critics’ Choice Awards are bestowed annually to honor the finest in cinematic and television achievement.  Historically, they are the most-accurate predictor of Academy Award nominations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *